Sunday, October 15, 2017

Novemberian 2017 Wishlist

[Image source] - edited by me
November is almost here, which means my birthday is coming to town! As you may or may not know, a bunch of friends of mine with the same birthday month as me (November!) do this gift giving/exchange thingy sort of like a "Secret Santa" to each other where we send out a present anonymously to a target and then the target has to guess who gave him/her the present based on the clues we put inside the present.

In relation to that event, since we're all bookish people in a book community what better way to treat each other as with books! So, with this post I am writing in my wishlist to you my giver! Hope you won't get any difficulties in finding any of this.

Sunday, August 13, 2017

Book Review: When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Author: Paul Kalanithi
Publisher: Random House
Pages: 228
Format: Paperback
Published: January, 2017
Price: Rp160.000 (Periplus)
Rating: 3 / 5 stars

Date started: August 7, 2017 - Date finished: August 13, 2017

Synopsis:
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi’s wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a na├»ve medical student “possessed,” as he wrote, “by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life” into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper understanding of death and illness, and finally into a patient and a new father to a baby girl, confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. “I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,” he wrote. “Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ‘I can’t go on. I’ll go on.’” When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.

Monday, July 31, 2017

Book Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Author: Sally Thorne
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Pages: 384
Format: E-book
Published: August, 2016
Price: $7.99 -> Rp106.235 (Amazon)
Rating: 4 / 5 stars

Date started: June 7, 2017 - Date finished: June 8, 2017

Synopsis:
Nemesis (n.)

1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome;

2) A person’s undoing;

3) Joshua Templeman.

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.

Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Book Review: What I Wish I Had Known (And Other Lessons You Learned in Your 20s) by Marcella Purnama

Author: Marcella Purnama
Illustrator: Nabila Adani
Publisher: POP (Imprint KPG)
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
Published: June, 2017
Price: Rp75.000 (Gramedia)
Rating: 3 / 5 stars

Date started: July 14, 2017 - Date finished: July 15, 2017

Synopsis:
I’ve lived my whole life following people and taking their choices as mine. I will dream a new dream, a dream that’s totally my own, and I will work hard to get it.

Ever since her acceptance letter to study abroad arrived at her inbox, nothing in Marcella Purnama’s life has gone according to plan. Instead of choosing Science, like her two older sisters did before her, she steered path to study Arts—a degree so alien to both her families and friends. But as she traveled thousands miles away, struggled with English, had her first byline and went back home to apply for her first job, Marcella realized that plans are meant to be changed. Full of relatable tales of horrific group work, falling in love, first job interview and quarter-life crisis, this illuminating account follows how a young adult grapples with life’s small and big questions, and the lessons learned along the way.
– D I S C L A I M E R –
I was given a copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review, all opinions stated here are my own.

Friday, July 14, 2017

Book Review: The Spiral Down (The Fall Up, #2) by Aly Martinez

Author: Aly Martinez
Publisher: Aly Martinez
Pages: 242
Format: E-book
Published: May, 2016
Price: $12.99 -> Rp172.845 (Amazon)
Rating: 4½ / 5 stars

Date started: June 13, 2017 - Date finished: June 14, 2017

Synopsis:
Standalone M/M romance.

I was afraid to fly.

He made me soar.


After years of climbing the ladder of success in the music industry, I finally had everything I could want.
Yet I still found myself wandering through life alone.

Captain Evan Roth was the one man I never saw coming. 
Tall, dark, mysterious… Straight. 

We were both damaged beyond repair and searching for something so elusive we weren’t sure it even existed.

But, when two broken souls collide in midair, falling is a given.

I just never expected to crave the spiral down.

Sunday, June 11, 2017

Book Review: Murder on the Orient Express: A Hercule Poirot Mystery (Hercule Poirot, #10) by Agatha Christie

Author: Agatha Christie
Publisher: Black Dog Publishing
Pages: 247
Format: E-book
Published: July, 2012
Price: $6.83 -> Rp90.805 (Amazon)
Rating: 5 / 5 stars

Date started: June 2, 2017 - Date finished: June 5, 2017

Synopsis:
One of Agatha Christie’s most famous mysteries, Murder on the Orient Express was inspired by two real-life crimes and the author’s own experience being stranded on the Orient Express during Christmas of 1931. While traveling to Paris, a wealthy American is stabbed to death in his cabin on the Orient Express. With the train stuck in a snowdrift, there is no easy escape for the killer. Fortunately, detective Hercule Poirot is aboard and launches a clever investigation into the curious assortment of passengers, of whom each seems to have a motive.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...